V/A Wanna Buy A Craprak?
Carpark Records

We probably should have covered this CD around the holidays since it has the makings of a perfect present and a perfect introduction to those not already familiar with the Carpark label. From the colorful holiday aesthetic of the packaging by Carpark artist, So Takahashi to the 13 audio tracks and 4 excellent full-length videos from 242pilots, Jake Mandell, Takagi Masakatsu, and Marumari, this compilation should double as a guide for upcoming labels looking for the best way to promote their work and did I mention that it sells at an EP price? I sound like a cars salesman, not a writer. Highlights aside, a quick glance at the track list will tell you if you're into this disc or not being that many of the artists have recorded for other labels, however this disc represents some of their lighter pop moments being that the material seems to be centered around the digital processing of acoustic instruments and airy synths and will find plenty of love from those who like their Mille Plateaux and folk records on the same mixtape. - JH


  1. Greg Davis - Brocade
  2. Kit Clayton vs. Safety Scissors - 17-11
  3. Marumari - Saka
  4. So Takahashi - Blue, Blue, Electronic Blue
  5. Ogurusu Norihide - 5:00
  6. Dinky - No Love
  7. Freescha - Live and Learn Me
  8. Casino Versus Japan - Aquarium
  9. Kid606 - If My Heart Ever Ran Away It Would Be Looking For The Day When Right Beside You It Could Forever Stay
  10. Takagi Masakatsu - Golden Town With Sunglasses
  11. Hrvatski - Equinox
  12. Signer - Interior Dub
  13. Jake Mandell - Beartrap


  1. 242pilots - Live At Taklos
  2. Takagi Masakatsu - I'm Computer, I'm Singing A Song
  3. Marumari - Way In The Middle Of The Air
  4. Jake Mandell - Prince and The Palm



Enter your e-mail address below for a chance to win a copy of Dinky's Black Cabaret from Carpark records.!

Limit one entry per person.