V/A Rewind 2
Ubiquity Records

It never ceases to amaze me just how many compilation albums are in existence and continue to be made but at least labels like Ubiquity are keeping up with some excellent concepts. However, like a lot of labels, Ubiquity could use a little help when it comes to those album titles! That said, this is number two in a series of contemporary artists giving some older and odd classics the rework and make over. If you're looking for a pop album with a broad and sophisticated musical range, just imagine tunes by Curtis Mayfield, Sting, John Coltrane, The Temptations, Bill Withers being covered by Greyboy, Joseph Malik, John Beltran, Terry Callier, Nicola Conte, Roy Davis Jr., Platinum Pied Pipers and more. This should give you an idea of the global scope this album covers. There are so many highlights it's hard to know where to begin but I can't get enough of John Beltran's Brazilian drum&bass cover of Sting's Fragile and Matthew Herbert did a wicked remix of Karin Krog's 'The Meaning of Love'. -JH


  1. The Platinum Pied Pipers - Ridin' High
  2. Greyboy - To Know You Is to Love You
  3. Joseph Malik - Take It All In and Check It All Out
  4. Povo Povo - Uam Uam
  5. Karin Krog - Meaning of Love (Herbert Remix)
  6. Big Bang - Speak Low
  7. Roy Davis Jr. - People Get Ready
  8. Yesterday's New Quintet - Deja Vu
  9. Superbaccana - Reza
  10. Nicola Conte - Adriana
  11. John Beltran - Fragile
  12. Fruitbeard - Private Life
  13. The Platinum Pied Pipers - Open Your Eyes
  14. Terry Callier - Just My Imagination
  15. Soul Bossa Trio - Naima



Enter your e-mail address below for a chance to win a copy of Dinky's Black Cabaret from Carpark records.!

Limit one entry per person.