Codek Records

Like some sort of weird ménage-à-trois between Sigue Sigue Sputnik, Blondie, and Gary Numan, Crossover's debut album merrily uncovers the lost sound of New Wave, Synth-Pop, and Punk. Crossover's Vanessa Tosti and Mark Ingram incorporate funky and stripped down production to back their vocals. Co-produced with Sasha Crnobrnja and Alex Gloor of Codek records, the music features a brand of spaced-out retro funk with its catchy hooks and thick analog bass lines that seduces you into a glamorous fantasy world of kitchy pop-culture, picture androids in Armani suits.

Vanessa and Mark have developed some snappy vocals for their tracks, a karaoke blend of half spoken, half singing that doesn't take itself too seriously but is still great none the less. Crossover's tales range from adventures like "The Great Katanza" the abstract "Lady Dragon Slayer"(a tune for your next pharmaceutical trip) and the whispered Grand Master Flash vibe of "Green Teeth". Fantasmo mixes retro chic with futuristic concepts, a sexy stimulant with its warm filters and effects that drop in and out of the mix. This is a fantastic pop album as well as an impressive debut from a duo that sounds as if they crashed their Barbarella spacecraft straight into New York.

-Justin Hardison

Track Listing:

1. Lucida Obscura
2. Phogtographt
3. Extensive Care
4. The Great Katanza
5. Green Teeth
6. Kobe
7. Lady Dragon Slayer
8. Flying Terrible Walrus
9. Phantom Hero



Enter your e-mail address below for a chance to win a copy of Dinky's Black Cabaret from Carpark records.!

Limit one entry per person.