Must Hear Music
Reviews Archives
Bargain Basement
Music DVD
Send Us Mail
Contact Us

Mute Records

Whether or not you are a fan of Erasure's long and storied career, the new record Nightbird is indisputably one of the finest pure pop masterpieces in what seems like decades. The last few outings from the band have been letdowns for those who patiently waited for a real taste of fresh new music from the magical mind of Vince Clarke. Finally! No cover songs, no collections of uninspired remixes, no dreary and odd moodiness; Nightbird is pure classic beautiful Erasure heaven.

Gone are the slightly askew attitudes of the eponymous record, the odd Abba affectations, the seeming lack of emotional involvement in his music… Instead we are given eleven songs of that pure joy that can only come from the FM synthesis of Clarke. The songs float lithely through the ether, tripping through fields of sonic loveliness. Andy Bell's voice is clearer and more mature than ever before. No longer sounding like the recurrent shadow of Alison Moyet, Bell has developed his vocal instrument to depths of tone and emotion that were only hinted at previously. Just when the thought had crossed so many minds that there was to be no more musical growth from the Erasure camp, we have suddenly been graced with possibly the finest album that the artful duo has ever recorded.

Nightbird is a very mature and well-balanced selection of songs, ranging from the light and airy "Breathe", with it's intricate background vocals and washes of analog sounds, to the dancey and upbeat "I'll Be There" - complete with early 90's techno sounds. The poetry of "Here I Go Impossible Again" sets apart the lyrical content on Nightbird from so much of the past few years of Erasure's works. "Because Our Love Is Real" is a perfect love song, with bouncing keyboards layered with thick vocals and precisely light drumbeats. Emotion is what truly sets this album apart. Real, inspired, emotion.

Whether or not we are poised for an 80's revival in pop music doesn't seem to matter to Vince And Andy. What does seem to matter is that they finally have something new and fresh to say. And we are eagerly listening.

-Embo Blake

Track Listing:

1. No Doubt
2. Here I Go Impossible Again
3. Let's Take One More Rocket
4. Breathe
5. I'll Be There
6. Because Our Love Is Real
7. Don't Say You Love Me
8. All This Time Still Falling Out Of Love
9. I Broke It All In Two
10. Sweet Surrender
11. I Bet You're Mad At Me

Check out more reviews

Talk Back
e-mail the chief

Like this article?
e-mail it to a friend!


Mike Doughty

none now

South By Southwest 2014
David DeVoe

South By Southwest 2013
David DeVoe

Red Hook Music Festival
George Dow

SXSW 2012
David DeVoe

Our Favorite Records 2011
Hybrid Staff

Rachel Fredrickson

Rachel Fredrickson

Warped Tour 2011
Rachel Fredrickson

Eddie Spaghetti
Melissa Skrbic-Huss

Murder By Death
Mike DeLeo

Mike Doughty
Boulder, CO

Denver, CO

Imagine Dragons
Denver, CO

Cambridge, MA

Young Magic
Denver, CO

Warped Tour 2012
Denver, CO

Denver, CO

Mike Doughty
Denver, CO

Kansas City, MO

Other Lives
Lawrence, KS

Los Campesinos
Boston, MA

The Civil Wars
Lawrence, KS

Ha Ha Tonka
Lawrence, KS

Lawrence, KS

hybridmagazine.com is updated daily except when it isn't.
New film reviews are posted every week like faulty clockwork.
Wanna write for hybrid? Send us an e-mail.
© 1996-2009 [noun] digital media. All rights reserved worldwide. All content on hybridmagazine.com and levelheadedmusic.com is the intellectual property of Hybrid Magazine and its respective creators. No part of hybridmagazine.com or levelheadedmusic.com may be reproduced in any format without expressed written permission. For complete masthead and physical mailing address, Click Here.