Must Hear Music
Reviews Archives
Bargain Basement
Music DVD
Send Us Mail
Contact Us

The Microphones
It Was Hot We Stayed In The Water
K Records

The Microphones have been largely overlooked by the college-indie-rock station I listen to, and it's not too hard to see why. Even in the indie culture, there is a sense of convention and a way that songs should be composed. The Microphones and convention: a sibling rivalry molded from both love and hate. The love between the two can be found peppered throughout the 11 song long player, as we here typical indie chord progressions, super fuzzy distorted guitar dripping sweet melodies, flat singing. But it doesn't take long for the dichotomy to become apparent as each song twists itself from indie pop into an experimental musical balloon animal. The Microphones buck this indie convention unapologetically and luckily, it works.

Notably, most every song on It Was Hot We Stayed In The Water comes across as two distinctly different pieces of music. The opening number, "The Pull," starts as a soft acoustic tune before hitting you with a barrage of drums. "Ice" begins as a great pop song and after the second verse drops into a mixture of slow guitar and vibes. "The Glow" is a wave of harmony vocals, then slips into a composition that sounds like it was written on a ukulele then becomes a happy go lucky melody controlled by abstract noise. Unlike most albums, you have to listen to every song the whole way through before you know what it sounds like.

Needless to say, this isn't an ordinary album. Yet the tunes here aren't harsh, disruptive (with the exception of "Drums," which as you may have guessed is an assault of rhythm), or obnoxious. Amid the chaos, this disc comes across as orderly and defined. The dramatic shifts mid-song are more curious than they are alarming.

Who's to say why this album hasn't been getting airplay on my local indie station. It's a shame though, because the target indie audience would fall in love the Microphones. They could easily be the Flaming Lips for the drone rock set.

-Tyler Jacobson

Track Listing:

  1. The Pull
  2. Ice
  3. Sand (Eric's Trip)
  4. The Glow
  5. Karl Blau
  6. Drums
  7. The Gleam
  8. The Breeze
  9. (Something)
  10. Between Your Ear and the Other Ear
  11. Organs

Mike Doughty

none now

South By Southwest 2014
David DeVoe

South By Southwest 2013
David DeVoe

Red Hook Music Festival
George Dow

SXSW 2012
David DeVoe

Our Favorite Records 2011
Hybrid Staff

Rachel Fredrickson

Rachel Fredrickson

Warped Tour 2011
Rachel Fredrickson

Eddie Spaghetti
Melissa Skrbic-Huss

Murder By Death
Mike DeLeo

Mike Doughty
Boulder, CO

Denver, CO

Imagine Dragons
Denver, CO

Cambridge, MA

Young Magic
Denver, CO

Warped Tour 2012
Denver, CO

Denver, CO

Mike Doughty
Denver, CO

Kansas City, MO

Other Lives
Lawrence, KS

Los Campesinos
Boston, MA

The Civil Wars
Lawrence, KS

Ha Ha Tonka
Lawrence, KS

Lawrence, KS

hybridmagazine.com is updated daily except when it isn't.
New film reviews are posted every week like faulty clockwork.
Wanna write for hybrid? Send us an e-mail.
© 1996-2009 [noun] digital media. All rights reserved worldwide. All content on hybridmagazine.com and levelheadedmusic.com is the intellectual property of Hybrid Magazine and its respective creators. No part of hybridmagazine.com or levelheadedmusic.com may be reproduced in any format without expressed written permission. For complete masthead and physical mailing address, Click Here.