Must Hear Music
Reviews Archives
Bargain Basement
Music DVD
Send Us Mail
Contact Us

Various Artists
Sun Runners
ISM Records

DJ Swingsett has mixed an impressive compilation, Sun Runners, for ISM records, a label that hosts a variety of both new and established artists from the New York underground. The compilation, the first CD mix for the label, is comprised of various eclectic sounds from artists such as DJ Spinna, J. Warrin, DJ Wally, Duermo, Takuya, DJ Swingsett, and Twilight Circus among others. The material on Sun Runners ranges from drum &bass, dub, abstract hip-hip to elements of Brazilian percussive numbers as well a wonderful vocals like the passionate "Recognize" by J. Warrin and Carol C.

The compilations opening track "Salsa Drunkyfunk" by Lorr and Enoc Perez is a heavy breakbeat number laced with Latin percussion, vocal snippets, and horn lines that really set the pace for the entire mix. Each of the tracks are mixed flawlessly by Swingsett and gives the listener the chance to discover ISM records mission of breaking the musical barriers of electronic music’s sub genres, giving the music no other choice but to move forward. The producers on Sun Runners have chosen a lot of interesting sounds and combinations to work with when composing the tracks. "Vida Blue" by Beatboxes At Dawn blends Asian string instruments with dub and electro before mixing into Duermo’s "Cluster" that takes the electro vibe further replacing the organic string sounds with digital ones for programming the melody. The compilation is comprised of mostly exclusive material so whether or not your familiar with ISM, Sun Runners is highly recommended and worth checking out.

-Justin Hardison

Track Listing:

  1. "Salsa Drunkyfunk" – Lorr featuring Enoc Perez
  2. " Water Tree" – Motopsyco & Cassien
  3. "Funktacuda" – DJ Spinna
  4. "Nalito’s Way" – Jamyz Nylon
  5. "Y-Sign" – Duermo
  6. "Dropera" – Wally & Swingsett
  7. "Three Fans" – Takuya
  8. " Waiting For Samantha" – Lorr
  9. "Recognize" – Motopsyco & Carol C.
  10. "Vida Blue" – Beatboxes At Dawn
  11. "Cluster" - Duermo
  12. "Fast Dub Plate" – Twilight Circus
  13. "Mandeville Drop" (Mindflight Remix) – Swingsett & J. Warrin
  14. "How I Feel" – Brothers Warrin

Mike Doughty

none now

South By Southwest 2014
David DeVoe

South By Southwest 2013
David DeVoe

Red Hook Music Festival
George Dow

SXSW 2012
David DeVoe

Our Favorite Records 2011
Hybrid Staff

Rachel Fredrickson

Rachel Fredrickson

Warped Tour 2011
Rachel Fredrickson

Eddie Spaghetti
Melissa Skrbic-Huss

Murder By Death
Mike DeLeo

Mike Doughty
Boulder, CO

Denver, CO

Imagine Dragons
Denver, CO

Cambridge, MA

Young Magic
Denver, CO

Warped Tour 2012
Denver, CO

Denver, CO

Mike Doughty
Denver, CO

Kansas City, MO

Other Lives
Lawrence, KS

Los Campesinos
Boston, MA

The Civil Wars
Lawrence, KS

Ha Ha Tonka
Lawrence, KS

Lawrence, KS

hybridmagazine.com is updated daily except when it isn't.
New film reviews are posted every week like faulty clockwork.
Wanna write for hybrid? Send us an e-mail.
© 1996-2009 [noun] digital media. All rights reserved worldwide. All content on hybridmagazine.com and levelheadedmusic.com is the intellectual property of Hybrid Magazine and its respective creators. No part of hybridmagazine.com or levelheadedmusic.com may be reproduced in any format without expressed written permission. For complete masthead and physical mailing address, Click Here.