Must Hear Music
Reviews Archives
Bargain Basement
Music DVD
Send Us Mail
Contact Us

Rex Hobart And The Misery Boys
Empty House
Bloodshot Records

A few decades ago, George Jones asked a very important question that has been plaguing the minds of real country music lovers for decades: "Who's gonna fill their shoes?" Well, George, I am happy to report that country music has been saved, but it's coming from independent record labels, and very rarely coming out of Nashville and the Grand Ole Opry. Rex Hobart And The Misery Boys pay homage to the greats, while creating music that easily stands its own as a stalwart of the modern country world. Additionally, Hobart's vocals sound more than just a bit like Mr. Jones himself, having a similar gravely, yet clear and high lonesome timbre.

The music on Hobart's fourth release, Empty House, continues to build on the solid foundations The Misery Boys have laid on their previous outings. The songs are heartfelt, melodic compositions based solidly in the country music of the 60's. J.B. Morris' guitar work is amazing, having a clean texture and amazing depth that is rare to find in modern music. He goes from thick twanging rhythm lines to snappy, bright leads without a hitch, all the while staying true to the genre's greats, but having a distinctive voice of his own. Solomon Hofer's pedal steel licks cry with the brilliant honky tonk spirit of the past, perfectly complementing the concrete rhythm section of T.C. Dobbs and Blackjack Snow. Let us not forget Rex Hobart's rich baritone voice, with its distinctive clarity and personality that makes for a truly pleasurable listening experience on songs like the sorrowful "Every Night I Leave You In My Mind". From the smoky, honky tonk ferocity of "The Good Ain't Gone" to the swinging "I Just Lost My Mind", Empty House is a fine collection of modern classics.

Establishing their place amid the honky tonkers and twanging heart breakers of today such as Dale Watson, The Domino Kings, Dwight Yoakam, Bill Kirchen, etc., Rex Hobart And The Misery Boys are paving the way for younger generations to understand what real country music is supposed to be. It looks like the shoes have been filled rather nicely, George. God bless these boys.

-Embo Blake

Track Listing:
1. The Good Ain't Gone
2. Every Night I Leave You In My Mind
3. Don't Make Me Break Your Heart
4. It Won't Be Long (and I'll be hating you)
5. I Just Lost My Mind
6. I Don't Like That Mirror
7. The Tear I Left Behind
8. Empty House Dawn And Twilight
9. Let's Leave Me
10. Heartache To Hide
11. Black Iron Bridge

Check out more reviews

Talk Back
e-mail the chief

Like this article?
e-mail it to a friend!


Mike Doughty

none now

South By Southwest 2014
David DeVoe

South By Southwest 2013
David DeVoe

Red Hook Music Festival
George Dow

SXSW 2012
David DeVoe

Our Favorite Records 2011
Hybrid Staff

Rachel Fredrickson

Rachel Fredrickson

Warped Tour 2011
Rachel Fredrickson

Eddie Spaghetti
Melissa Skrbic-Huss

Murder By Death
Mike DeLeo

Mike Doughty
Boulder, CO

Denver, CO

Imagine Dragons
Denver, CO

Cambridge, MA

Young Magic
Denver, CO

Warped Tour 2012
Denver, CO

Denver, CO

Mike Doughty
Denver, CO

Kansas City, MO

Other Lives
Lawrence, KS

Los Campesinos
Boston, MA

The Civil Wars
Lawrence, KS

Ha Ha Tonka
Lawrence, KS

Lawrence, KS

hybridmagazine.com is updated daily except when it isn't.
New film reviews are posted every week like faulty clockwork.
Wanna write for hybrid? Send us an e-mail.
© 1996-2009 [noun] digital media. All rights reserved worldwide. All content on hybridmagazine.com and levelheadedmusic.com is the intellectual property of Hybrid Magazine and its respective creators. No part of hybridmagazine.com or levelheadedmusic.com may be reproduced in any format without expressed written permission. For complete masthead and physical mailing address, Click Here.