Must Hear Music
Reviews Archives
Bargain Basement
Music DVD
Send Us Mail
Contact Us

Summer Hymns
Fools Gold
Misra Records

On the clipped heels of their last release, Summer Hymns drop an album length EP, that plays cards held back on 2003's Clemency. Fool's Gold vaults over the band's established alt country chops and makes way for a wilier down home skew reminiscent of My Morning Jacket's Chocolate And Ice EP which allowed the band some between album space to molt into their next incarnation. "Behind The Locked Door" (from George Harrison's All Things Must Pass), drifts on a watery cradle of steel pedal that sounds like Neil Young quietly baying at the moon. "Fear The Law", echoes back on itself, almost like the Flaming Lips summoning Steely Dan with an abusively white funk undertow of tin can percussion and keyboard riffs just inches out of step with the rest of the track.

Zachary Gresham's voice has a bough breaking fragility to it that has the effect of nestling you closer, a voice that charms by toying with its own implosion. He sounds like Neil Young with someone crumpling a pack of ciggies in the back of his throat. If Fool's Gold works as a foreshadow, then it's likely that the most exciting records from Summer Hymns have yet to be made. Though love for Clemency came easy, the record still seemed staid and muted, a barrage of good reference points with very few claim stakes. Fool's Gold, though ostensibly a collection of cutting room floor bits, showcases a broader range than the record, presumably because, as a filler collection, there was no need for the corralling imperative of an album.

That loosened scope allows for tracks that, while having second cousin kinship to country, pull in a much broader swath of sound. "Pharmon", slips in with a buzzing dragonfly of feedback, and vocals breathed out and released into string-filled wind tunnel. What starts as a whimsical acoustic pop track, quickly derails into loose psychedelic chaos. There's enough of the trembled harmonies to sate fans of their debut and enough genuine surprises to rein in those not wholly sold the first time around.

-Terry Sawyer

Track Listing:

1. Fear the Law
2. What They Really Do
3. Behind That Locked Door
4. Butterflies
5. It Takes Two
6. It's Just Not Right
7. Pharmon
8. Crazy Baby
9. Capsized
10. No Butlers

Check out more reviews

Talk Back
e-mail the chief

Like this article?
e-mail it to a friend!


Mike Doughty

none now

South By Southwest 2014
David DeVoe

South By Southwest 2013
David DeVoe

Red Hook Music Festival
George Dow

SXSW 2012
David DeVoe

Our Favorite Records 2011
Hybrid Staff

Rachel Fredrickson

Rachel Fredrickson

Warped Tour 2011
Rachel Fredrickson

Eddie Spaghetti
Melissa Skrbic-Huss

Murder By Death
Mike DeLeo

Mike Doughty
Boulder, CO

Denver, CO

Imagine Dragons
Denver, CO

Cambridge, MA

Young Magic
Denver, CO

Warped Tour 2012
Denver, CO

Denver, CO

Mike Doughty
Denver, CO

Kansas City, MO

Other Lives
Lawrence, KS

Los Campesinos
Boston, MA

The Civil Wars
Lawrence, KS

Ha Ha Tonka
Lawrence, KS

Lawrence, KS

hybridmagazine.com is updated daily except when it isn't.
New film reviews are posted every week like faulty clockwork.
Wanna write for hybrid? Send us an e-mail.
© 1996-2009 [noun] digital media. All rights reserved worldwide. All content on hybridmagazine.com and levelheadedmusic.com is the intellectual property of Hybrid Magazine and its respective creators. No part of hybridmagazine.com or levelheadedmusic.com may be reproduced in any format without expressed written permission. For complete masthead and physical mailing address, Click Here.