Must Hear Music
Reviews Archives
Bargain Basement
Music DVD
Send Us Mail
Contact Us

Lost At Sea
Gotizm/ Atlantic Records

2Cents add fodder to the embers of classic heavy metal flambeau with modern flints fermenting outbursts of guitar pyrotechnics and chafing vocals, crocheting tumultuous ruptures and whipping tousles. Their transmissions are motored by thriving vocals, peddling drum throes, and busting guitar pellets. They crumple grating and flogging sequences into melodically rhythmic inclines. Their windswept stampedes are hinged by whirling motions harkening to the theatrics of Rob Zombie, the intensity of Lamb Of God, and the vocal bullhorns of Diecast's Colin Schleifer.

Their debut album Lost At Sea, produced by Matt Hyde (Porno For Pyros, Slayer) is a reverent requiem of everything grand about hardcore/heavy metal chaises, reveling vestiges synonymous with Opeth, Between The Buried And Me, and vintage Bullet Boys. The breakneck punk urgency and throbbing chord voltaic in tracks like "The Wedding Dress" and "Victims Of Pop Culture" have command of the repetitive high-strung chord friction and vocal punches. The severity of the frayed guitar frets on songs like "Crowd Control" and "Symptoms For Side Effects" are flanked by taut drum and bass rolls keeping the movements tightly wind.

The tune "A Song For Darrell Abbott" is a tribute to the late Pantera guitarist. The soft tempo along flushes of hard rock salvos are paved with intricate chord progressions that rise and stretch out the melodic fills. The salute to Abbott has the symphonic levels of a powerful piece. The taut rumples return with "Steak Dinner" and "Wired" propping twisting guitar rings and refracting rhythm pockets. The vocal crunches on "Get The Door" and "My Two Wives" are wedged by meteoric lofts emitting a huge guitar brisance. "The Mark Of My Pen" mantles a melodic crux netting bristling segments and hard rock spools.

2Cents debut album is a great achievement for the hardcore/heavy metal mecca. The songs are studded with axles of intensity and drama along a scaffold of melodic fills. Lead singer and drummer Adam O'Rourke is joined by his brother Dave O'Rourke on guitar, Jesse Fishman on bass guitar, and Dean Woodward on guitar. The band is presently on a nationwide tour and making notches in the hardcore/heavy metal racket.

-Susan Frances

Track listing:
1. The Wedding Dress
2. F**ked In The Afterlife
3. Victims Of Pop Culture
4. Symptoms For Side Effects
5. A Song For Darrell Abbott
6. Crowd Control
7. Steak Dinner
8. Wired
9. Get The Door
10. My Two Wives
11. The Mark Of My Pen
12. Lost At Sea

Check out more reviews

Talk Back
e-mail the chief

Like this article?
e-mail it to a friend!


Mike Doughty

none now

South By Southwest 2014
David DeVoe

South By Southwest 2013
David DeVoe

Red Hook Music Festival
George Dow

SXSW 2012
David DeVoe

Our Favorite Records 2011
Hybrid Staff

Rachel Fredrickson

Rachel Fredrickson

Warped Tour 2011
Rachel Fredrickson

Eddie Spaghetti
Melissa Skrbic-Huss

Murder By Death
Mike DeLeo

Mike Doughty
Boulder, CO

Denver, CO

Imagine Dragons
Denver, CO

Cambridge, MA

Young Magic
Denver, CO

Warped Tour 2012
Denver, CO

Denver, CO

Mike Doughty
Denver, CO

Kansas City, MO

Other Lives
Lawrence, KS

Los Campesinos
Boston, MA

The Civil Wars
Lawrence, KS

Ha Ha Tonka
Lawrence, KS

Lawrence, KS

hybridmagazine.com is updated daily except when it isn't.
New film reviews are posted every week like faulty clockwork.
Wanna write for hybrid? Send us an e-mail.
© 1996-2009 [noun] digital media. All rights reserved worldwide. All content on hybridmagazine.com and levelheadedmusic.com is the intellectual property of Hybrid Magazine and its respective creators. No part of hybridmagazine.com or levelheadedmusic.com may be reproduced in any format without expressed written permission. For complete masthead and physical mailing address, Click Here.